The Winners

TPM is pleased to announce the winners of the Sixth Annual Golden Dukes recognizing the year’s best purveyors of public corruption, outlandish behavior and The Crazy.

The awards are named in honor of former Rep. Randy “Duke” Cunningham, who epitomizes the iconic modern scandal. Few have so combined public corruption, a betrayal of the public trust and generally shameless behavior. Following his example, 2012 has been a banner year — from virulent outbreaks of The Crazy to David Petraeus’ biographer bingo to the nonstop nonsense that was the 2012 campaign—there’s been a lot to rake.

Our celebrity judges — Alex Pareene,@PourMeCoffeeMarin CoganLizz Winstead and Susie Bright — waded their way through all 35 finalists in 7 categories, and selected the winners.

Check out the lucky nominees and the reader emails that selected them here. To read any judge’s statements (be sure you do), scroll to the end and click on each judge’s name!